Ecuador - Higher Ed - Alexis David

Higher Ed - Alexis David

Hello, my name is Alexis Chalá. I am 29 years old and I live in Quito, Ecuador.

I am grateful to God for everything He has done throughout my life. He changed my family, my attitude and my vision of serving others. I grew up and lived in unfavorable conditions during a crucial stage of my childhood. In the same way, in adolescence I experienced strong changes, but I always had God's help. I finished my high school studies and immediately started my university career, which I also completed with a lot of effort when I received a Bachelor in Physical Activity.

My performance as a teacher continues to grow because of the opportunity to work as an Academic Tutor with Second Chances, a space that has allowed me to establish new life goals.

I was part of Casa Gabriel during two periods of my life - the first when I was 7 years old to 14 years old and the second from 24 to 28 years old while I was studying at the university. I also fulfilled the role of house manager. (Casa Gabriel is a Ministry Site of Education Equals Hope. To learn more, visit their website here:

It's hard for me to think about everything I've been through, but God's faithfulness has been greater than my need.

I will tell you that my special motivation is my family, which is why I continue to put my virtues and talents into action, seeking the best for them. Unfortunately, we are going through a cruel situation in which, without a sustainable economic base, it will be difficult for us to change reality.

Therefore, by accessing a scholarship and with your help, I am about to undertake a new challenge. I will study jurisprudence (Law) at a private university where I was accepted after taking the admission test and receiving a favorable score. This allowed me to be among the applicants and students accepted to start the semester in August 2022 and to be part of the support program for my ethnicity.

Within my plans will be to fairly and fully support my family and people who find themselves in similar situations in the future.

I seek the support of people who want to walk with me in this new challenge. The costs to access this educational opportunity exceed what my mother can cover and also the savings that I have achieved in my short period of work.